Senior employees, ordered back to the office, are jumping ship | Hacker News

· algiegray's blog


Return to Office (RTO) is Driving Away Senior Employees #

The Impact of RTO on Companies #

The Benefits of Remote Work #

"My company recently spun out of a much larger corporation and has just implemented a 4-day week policy after nearly 5 years of flexible work (ie. come in when you need to be in to do your job). Since then, my team has halved and the senior leadership at the site have almost all left to competitors except for a couple of people closing on retirement anyway. We're struggling to get the bare minimum done and have to ZBB almost everything that isn't core work. It's miserable."

The Challenges of Remote Work #

Alternative Solutions to RTO #

"If you have to RTO, better to RTO where you get paid better. I WFH and pay isn't what I can make if in office, I take the flexibility. If I have to RTO, I'll seek higher pay, even if it means relocating to a different location."

Top Quotes: #

"Nobody wants to prop up the board's other investments in commercial real estate and nobody has to care that they're losing their shirts either. Make big cities safe and clean and affordable again, or they will just rot away and collapse in on themselves."

"I walked into a Walmart in urban California last week and the men's socks were stored in locked cabinets. I don't need statistics to tell me that the crime in that neighborhood is off the charts and it's not a place I want to live or work. Are there safe parts of most cities? Sure! But life is usually more complicated than "that's just a {insert my political adversary} talking point", and this is definitely one of those cases."

"It's easy to paint a conspiracy picture. Most boards are not in commercial real estate and certainly not enough to force CEOs to act against the interest of their company. They're doing this because they believe in it. Lots of people just believe wrong things despite evidence."

"Finding AI talent, which more and more companies are going to need, is already a search for the proverbial needle in a haystack. Adding strict RTO policies to that scenario won’t make the talent search easier."

"Whether companie they used it as a ploy to get people to voluntarily quit, or not, it hasn't really worked for them. These are now stuck with the desperate second rate employees who are forced to RTO because they're not good enough to find a job elsewhere, and the ones who love RTO because they're all for office politics and wasting time at meetings and the water cooler."

"If I'm sitting there thinking I could more or less work anywhere else, I would be the first one to take a hike, go find employment elsewhere, say to myself, "I don't need to put up with this shit."

"In my experience, the problem is that junior, extremely motivated people, who are often the ones doing the impactful work, cannot thrive and learn from experienced people in WFH environments."

"Bean counter types claim these people cost too much!!"

source